Natalia Ehwald | Piano
Natalia Ehwald's playing has, it can be said, an almost religious quality: never mannered but arising from the deepest, most honest sensibility. – Der Tagesspiegel
classical music, piano talents, artist homepage, pianist, natalia ehwald, concert, kreisleriana
21012
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-21012,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-3.6,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_transparency vertical_menu_transparency_on,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

„Natalia Ehwald's playing has, it can be said, an almost religious quality: never mannered but arising from the deepest, most honest sensibility.“ – Der Tagesspiegel

Listen

New CD “Fantasias for Piano” will be released

Release date: 05th of May, 2016

CD release concerts:
05th May 2016 – Son Bauló, Lloret de Mallorca
13th May 2016 ­­­– München, Klavierwerkstatt Kontrapunkt
14th May 2016 – Jena, Rathausdiele
18th May 2016 – Berlin, Pianosalon Christophori
10th June 2016 – Göttingen, Klaviersalon
14th June 2016 – Paris, Goethe-Institut
16th July 2016 – Zehdenick, Klosterscheune

A Conversation with Natalia Ehwald

? With Schumann’s early work of genius Kreisleriana and Schubert’s G major Sonata, you have paired together two very different works for this CD.

Natalia Ehwald: On first glance the two pieces may seem completely different — Kreisleriana is stormy and passionate, the Schubert introverted, melancholy, and introspective. But beyond their differences, the two works share something in common, both formally and in their incredible expressive power. Both compositions speak a similar language, for example the sixth piece of Kreisleriana and the Sonata’s second movement. And in each we encounter the intimate, seemingly simple melodies that are so typical for the two composers — almost “in folk style,” a phrase Schumann used in other compositions.

? What do these pieces mean to you?

NE: When I heard Kreisleriana for the first time, I experienced a kind of epiphany. Since then the piece has always accompanied me, and it helped me through a number of difficult periods in my life. Through my intensive involvement with Kreisleriana, I also got to know E. T. A. Hoffmann’s unique world, and became quite obsessed with it at times.

? Can we understand this work even without knowing the story of the talented but mad Kapellmeister Kreisler?

NE: Yes, we certainly can. Schumann did not give the pieces this title until later anyway, even if it was an obvious choice—like Hoffmann’s character Johannes Kreisler, the moods in Kreisleriana are quite volatile, changing suddenly and abruptly from one extreme to the other. The music seems to me almost a bit schizophrenic.

? Nonetheless, the work describes the inner life not just of a fictional character, but also of the composer himself.

NE: Schumann wrote the pieces during a very turbulent period for him personally. Clara Wieck, who he was secretly engaged to, was still completely under her father’s influence. Not only concerned about the “welfare of her soul,” he also had misgivings about the effect the union would have on his daughter’s career. So he did everything he could to keep her away from Schumann. Countless letters were secretly exchanged between the two lovers. In one of them, Schumann writes, “Three marvelous spring days spent waiting for a letter — and then Kreisleriana done in four days — whole new worlds are opening up to me.” Schumann’s constant anxiety and hope, happiness and suffering find their place (completely autobiographically) in the Kreisleriana, just like his two alter egos Florestan and Eusebius. Formally speaking it also may be the most modern piece Schumann ever composed—the piano writing is unbelievably complex, and it is extremely demanding technically.

? What is your relationship to Schumann’s other works?

NE: He is a composer whose music is especially close to my heart. I love not only his piano works, but also his chamber music and symphonies. And I have played many of his wonderful Lieder. As a pianist you automatically grow up with Schumann’s Album for the Young, Op. 68. Later you learn the Fantasiestücke, Abegg Variations, Papillons, and other pieces. I have been playing some of these works for over 20 years, but their imaginativeness, spontaneity, and passionate exuberance are a fresh inspiration to me every time.

? In contrast, Franz Schubert is more of a composer one has to work one’s way to.

NE: The longer I spend with Schubert’s works, regardless of their genre, the more admiration and love I feel for them. This may be a bit of a strong statement, but Schubert found a door to the human soul like no one else. He touches the inexpressible, sometimes using very simple means. A moment comes in Schubert’s music when you understand the composer’s words, “Cheerful music is unknown to me.” For this, a certain life experience is necessary. I did not find my way to his music until my early 20s — it was Sviatoslav Richter’s interpretation of the great B-flat major Sonata that opened up this universe to me. One needs to learn to listen closely and look beneath the seemingly innocuous surface. It is a never-ending task. You probably spend your whole life searching for the often-invoked “Schubert sound.”

? What is it exactly that makes Schubert’s works and the search for the “Schubert sound” into a lifetime task?

NE: One of the reasons is certainly the “heavenly lengths” that characterize above all Schubert’s late works. This is one way the G-major Sonata is clearly different from the tightly-structured Kreisleriana. In this sonata especially, the lengths are stretched out almost to the extreme. The first movement, also called “Fantasy”, is like a perpetual meditation. As an interpreter you first need to learn how to deal with this extended length. It requires patience, a special sense of time, and also the courage to allow the time necessary. This actually begins already with the first note. You need long breath and patience. Incidentally, Schumann valued this sonata very highly and called it Schubert’s “most perfect, in form and spirit.”

? It’s interesting that when the works were composed, both composers were about the same age — Schumann was 28 and Schubert was 29. Were they also going through similar creative periods?

NE: No, completely different ones — Kreisleriana is one of Schumann’s early opuses, totally infused with an exhilarating youthful creativity and characterized by a new wild, romantic tone. In contrast, Schubert had only two more years to live in 1826 and could already look back on a tremendous body of work. It is true that the sonata is counted among his middle period piano works, but the spirit of the three late sonatas from his final year can already be felt here.

? You mentioned an important artistic impulse from Sviatoslav Richter. Are there any other pianists who have had a special influence on you?

NE: First and foremost, my longtime professor and mentor, Evgeni Koroliov. Like Richter, he belonged to the school of Heinrich Neuhaus, and never spoke to his pupils about piano playing — it was always about making music. In this way, and also through his playing, with its great artistry and unpretentiousness, he influenced me gently, but all the more deeply. Maybe my musical taste even more than my personal style. He taught me to let the music speak naturally and honestly, not putting yourself in the forefront as an “interpreter.” If you have a great love for the music you play, this is much easier.

The interview was conducted by Nora Gohlke.

Natalia Ehwald | Klavier
Die Debut-CD Fantasias for Piano von Natalia Ehwald erscheint am 05.Mai 2016. CD-Release-Konzerte in Berlin, Paris, Mallorca, München, Jena und Göttingen.
21012
home,page,page-id-21012,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-2.6,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_transparency vertical_menu_transparency_on,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.2,vc_responsive

„Bei Natalia Ehwald gleicht Klavierspielen, man darf das wohl so sagen, einer Religion: ihr Spiel ist keineswegs hingekünstelt, sondern entspringt vielmehr einer glaubhaften, bestürzenden Empfindungstiefe.“ – Der Tagesspiegel

Hörbeispiele

Aktuell: Die neue CD „Fantasias for Piano“

Erscheint am 05. Mai 2016

CD Release Konzerte:
05. Mai 2016 – Son Bauló, Lloret de Mallorca
13. Mai 2016 ­­­– München, Klavierwerkstatt Kontrapunkt
14. Mai 2016 – Jena, Rathausdiele
18. Mai 2016 – Berlin, Pianosalon Christophori
10. Juni 2016 – Göttingen, Klaviersalon
14. Juni 2016 – Paris, Goethe-Institut
16. Juli 2016 – Zehdenick, Klosterscheune

Natalia Ehwald im Gespräch

? Sie haben auf dieser CD mit Schumanns frühem Geniestreich Kreisleriana und Schuberts G-Dur Sonate zwei sehr unter­schiedliche Werke gegenübergestellt. Warum?

Natalia Ehwald: Auf den ersten Blick mögen diese beiden Stücke völlig verschieden erscheinen: die Kreisleriana stürmisch und leidenschaftlich, der Schubert verinnerlicht, introvertiert und melancholisch. Beiden Stücken ist aber etwas Grenz­über­schreitendes eigen, sowohl formal als auch in ihrer ungeheuren Ausdruckskraft. Beide sprechen eine ähnliche Sprache, beispiels­weise im sechsten Stück der Kreisleriana und im zweiten Satz der Sonate. Und in beiden Werken begegnen uns diese für die Komponisten so typischen innigen, scheinbar einfachen Melodien – quasi „im Volkston“, wie es bei Schumann an anderer Stelle auch heißt.

? Was bedeuten Ihnen diese Werke?

NE: Als ich die Kreisleriana zum ersten Mal hörte, hatte ich eine Art „Erweckungserlebnis“. Seitdem hat mich dieses Stück immer begleitet und mir über manche schwere Lebensphase geholfen. Die intensive Beschäftigung mit der Kreisleriana hat auch dazu geführt, dass ich den einzigartigen Kosmos von E. T. A. Hoffmann kennengelernt habe und zeitweise regelrecht besessen davon war.

? Kann man dieses Werk auch ohne die Geschichte des ebenso begabten wie verrückten Kapellmeisters Kreisler begreifen?

NE: Ja, sicher. Schumann hat den Stücken ohnehin erst nach­träglich diesen Titel gegeben, auch wenn er fast schon auf der Hand lag: Wie der von Hoffmann beschriebene Charakter Johannes Kreislers sind auch die Stimmungen in der Kreisleriana sehr sprunghaft, wechseln plötzlich und abrupt von einem Extrem ins andere. Für mich ist diese Musik fast ein wenig schizophren.

? Nichtsdestotrotz beschreibt das Werk aber nicht nur das Seelenleben einer fiktiven Person, sondern auch das des Komponisten selbst.

NE: Schumann hat die Stücke in einer für ihn sehr bewegten Zeit geschrieben. Clara Wieck, seine heimliche Verlobte, stand noch ganz unter dem Einfluss ihres Vaters. Dieser hatte nicht nur Sorge um ihr „Seelenheil“, sondern auch Bedenken, was diese Verbindung für die Karriere seiner Tochter bedeuten würde. Deshalb unternahm er alles, um sie von Schumann fernzuhalten. Unzählige Briefe gingen heimlich zwischen den Liebenden hin und her. In einem schreibt Schumann: „Drei wundervolle Frühlingstage zugebracht, in Erwartung auf einen Brief – und dann die Kreisleriana gemacht in vier Tagen, – ganz neue Welten tun sich mir auf.“ Für Schumann war es ein stetiges Bangen und Hoffen, Glück und Leid, das ganz autobiografisch Eingang in die Kreisleriana findet, ebenso wie seine beiden Alter Ego Florestan und Eusebius. Auch formal ist es das vielleicht modernste Stück, das Schumann komponiert hat: ungeheuer komplex im Klaviersatz und technisch überaus anspruchsvoll.

? Welche Verbindung haben Sie zu anderen Kompositionen von Schumann?

NE: Er ist ein Komponist, dessen Musik mir besonders am Herzen liegt. Nicht nur seine Klavierwerke, auch die Kammermusik und Sinfonien liebe ich sehr. Und von seinen wunderbaren Liedern habe ich viele gespielt. Als Pianist wird man ganz automatisch mit Schumanns Album für die Jugend op. 68 groß, später kommen dann die Phantasiestücke, die Abegg-Variationen, Papillons und andere dazu. Manche dieser Werke spiele ich seit mehr als 20 Jahren, aber die Spontanität, der Einfallsreichtum und leiden­schaftliche Überschwang begeistern mich immer wieder aufs Neue.

? Im Gegensatz dazu ist Franz Schubert eher ein Komponist, den man sich erst erarbeiten muss.

NE: Je länger ich mich mit Schuberts Werken, egal welcher Gattung, beschäftige, umso größer wird meine Bewunderung und auch Liebe zu ihnen. Vielleicht klingt es etwas pathetisch, aber Schubert hat wie kein anderer Zugang zur menschlichen Seele gefunden. Er rührt an das Unausprechliche – mit manchmal ganz einfachen Mitteln. Es kommt der Punkt, da begreift man in Schuberts Musik seinen Ausspruch: „Ich kenne keine heitere Musik.“ Dazu braucht es auch eine gewisse Lebenserfahrung. Ich habe erst mit Anfang zwanzig zu seiner Musik gefunden, vor allem Sviatoslav Richters Interpretation der großen B-Dur Sonate hat mir diesen Kosmos eröffnet. Man muss lernen, genau hinzuhören und unter die scheinbar harmlose Oberfläche zu blicken. Es ist eine nie endende Aufgabe. Auf der Suche nach dem vielbeschworenen „Schubert-Ton“ ist man wohl sein Leben lang.

? Was genau macht Schuberts Werke und die Suche nach dem „Schubert-Ton“ zur Lebensaufgabe?

NE: Ein Grund dafür sind nicht zuletzt die sogenannten „himmlischen Längen“, die vor allem die späten Werke Schuberts kennzeichnen. Darin unterscheidet sich die G-Dur Sonate deutlich von dem kleinteiligen Aufbau der Kreisleriana. Gerade in dieser Sonate findet eine fast schon extreme Ausdehnung der Längen statt. Der erste Satz, auch Fantasie genannt, ist wie eine immerwährende Meditation. Als Interpret muss man erst einmal lernen, mit dieser Ausdehnung fertig zu werden. Das erfordert Geduld, ein besonderes Empfinden von Zeit und auch den Mut, Zeit zuzulassen. Das beginnt eigentlich schon beim ersten Ton. Man braucht, im übertragenen Sinne, einen langen Atem. Schumann schätzte übrigens diese Sonate sehr und bezeichnete sie als Schuberts „vollendetste in Form und Geist“.

? Interessant ist, dass beide Komponisten zum Entstehungs­zeit­punkt der Werke ungefähr gleich alt waren, Schumann 28 Jahre und Schubert 29. Befanden sie sich auch in ähnlichen Schaffensperioden?

NE: Nein, in ganz unterschiedlichen: Die Kreisleriana sind ein frühes Opus Schumanns, ganz durchdrungen von jugendlichem Schaffensrausch und geprägt von einem neuen, wild-romantischen Tonfall. Schubert dagegen hatte 1826 noch zwei Jahre zu leben und konnte schon damals auf ein riesiges Werk zurückblicken. Die Sonate wird zwar zu seinem mittleren Klavierzyklus gezählt, aber der Geist der drei späten Sonaten aus seinem Todesjahr ist auch hier schon zu spüren.

? Sviatoslav Richter haben Sie als wichtigen künstlerischen Impuls erwähnt. Gibt es andere Pianisten, die sie besonders beeinflusst haben?

NE: An erster Stelle steht für mich mein langjähriger Professor und Mentor Evgeni Koroliov. Er, der wie Richter aus der Schule von Heinrich Neuhaus kommt, hat zu seinen Schülern nie vom Klavierspielen, immer nur vom Musizieren, gesprochen. Damit und mit seinem von allergrößter Bescheidenheit und Kunstfertigkeit geprägten Spiel hat er auf sehr sanfte, aber umso eindringlichere Art Einfluss genommen. Vielleicht sogar mehr auf meinen musikalischen Geschmack als auf den persönlichen Stil. Er hat mich gelehrt, Musik natürlich und ehrlich sprechen zu lassen, sich selbst als „Interpreten“ nicht in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Ist die Liebe zu der Musik, die man spielt, sehr groß, fällt das wesentlich leichter.

Das Gespräch führte Nora Gohlke.